Staff Directory

Karen Berry

State Geologist / Director
Administration, Land Use Review
1801 Moly Road
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2640
Email: kaberry@mines.edu

Specialties: Engineering Geology, Land Use Review, Landslides, Mudslides, RockFall, Swelling Soil
more...

Matt Morgan

Matt Morgan

Assistant Director / Senior Research Geologist
Administration, Engineering Geology, Geologic Mapping, Mineral Resources
1801 Moly Road
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2647
Email: mmorgan@mines.edu

Specialties: STATEMAP, Earthquakes, Geologic Hazards, Landslides, Mapping, Meteorites, Minerals, Geochronology, Geomorphology, Stratigraphy, Structure, LiDAR
more...

Peter Barkmann

Senior Hydrogeologist
Environmental Geology and Geologic Mapping
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2642
Email: barkmann@mines.edu

Specialties: Ground Water, Mapping, Stratigraphy, Structure, Water Quality
more...

Jill Carlson

Senior Engineering Geologist
Engineering Geology
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2643
Email: carlson@mines.edu

Specialties: Historic Coal Mine Subsidence, Engineering Geology, Geologic Hazards, Land Use Review, Landslides, Mudslides, RockFall, Swelling Soil
more...

Mike O’Keeffe

Geologist
Mineral Resources and Geologic Mapping
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2637
Email: okeeffe@mines.edu

Specialties: Minerals, Environmental Geology, Geologic Mapping, Igneous Petrology, Seismic Monitoring
more...

Paul Morgan

Senior Geothermal Geologist
Mineral Resources
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2648
Email: morgan@mines.edu

Specialties: Geothermal Energy, Earthquakes
more...

Jonathan Lovekin

Senior Engineering Geologist
Engineering Geology and Geologic Mapping
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: (303) 384-2654
Email: jlovekin@mines.edu

Specialties: land use review, geologic hazards, geologic mapping
more...

Kassandra Lindsey

Geologist
Engineering Geology and Geologic Mapping
1801 19th Street (Moly Road)
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2660
Email: kolindsey@mines.edu

Specialties: land use review, geologic hazards, geologic mapping
more...

Kevin McCoy

Engineering Geologist
Engineering Geology
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2632
Email: kemccoy@mines.edu

Specialties: geologic hazards, landslides, post-wildfire debris flows, GIS modeling, land-use reviews
more...

Stephen Keller

Geologist
Mineral Resources and Geologic Mapping
1801 19th St.
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2645
Email: skeller@mines.edu

Specialties: Minerals, Economic Geology, Mapping, Environmental
more...

Martin Palkovic

Martin Palkovic

Geologist
Environmental Geology
1801 19th St.
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2646
Email: mpalkovic@mines.edu

Specialties: Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, Subsurface Geology, Geologic Mapping, Geochemistry, Laboratory Analyses of Geologic Materials, CO2 Sequestration
more...

Lesley Sebol

Hydrogeologist
Environmental Geology
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2633
Email: lsebol@mines.edu

Specialties: Hydrogeology, Groundwater, Water Quality, Environmental Science
more...

Jonathan White (emeritus)

Senior Engineering Geologist
Engineering Geology and Geologic Mapping
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2650
Email: jwhite@mines.edu

Specialties: Engineering Geology, Geologic Hazards, Land Use Review, Landslides, Mapping, Mudslides, Quaternary, RockFall
more...

Lauren Broes

Lauren Broes

Geologist
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2635
Email: lbroes@mines.edu

Specialties: Groundwater, GIS, Geologic Mapping
more...

Kyren Bogolub

Kyren Bogolub

Seismologist
Seismology, induced earthquakes, and geophysical methods
Phone:
Email: kbogolub@mines.edu

Specialties: Seismology, Geophysical Methods, Data Management
more...

Scot Fitzgerald

Hazards Analyst
Environmental Geology
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2644
Email: ffitzger@mines.edu

Specialties: Geologic Hazards, GIS Modeling, HAZUS
more...

John Hopkins

John Hopkins

Technical Media Specialist
PR, Social Media, Editing, Archiving, Media
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80228
Phone: 303-384-2641
Email: jchopkins@mines.edu

Specialties: online/offline digital audio, video, photography; web production, archivist
more...

Larry Scott

Graphic Design and Publications
Graphic Design
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2631
Email: lmscott@mines.edu

Specialties: Graphic design, illustration, map-making
more...

Beth Sjaastad

Budget Officer
Administration
1801 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2638
Email: bsjaasta@mines.edu

Specialties: accounting
more...

Debbie Cockburn

Program Assistant
Administration
1801 19th St.
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-384-2674
Email: dcockbur@mines.edu

Specialties: Administration, Outreach, Bookstore
more...