1998 Frye Award – GSA

1998 John C. Frye Memorial Award – Geological Society of America

Frye Award given in Oct 1998

John C. Frye Memorial Award in Environmental Geology ceremony, October 26, 1998, GSA annual meeting, Toronto, Ontario. Dave Noe and Pat Rogers (CGS, co-authors) receive the Frye award from Jamie Robertson (presenter, GSA Engineering Geology Division), and Vicki Cowart (former Colorado State Geologist). Not shown: Candace Jochim (co-author).

The John C. Frye Memorial Award is given each year to the best environmental geology paper published either by the Geological Society of America or by one of the state geological surveys. Papers published during the preceding three calendar years are judged. For years 1990-1993, the award consisted of $500 and certificates. Beginning in 1994, the annual amount changed to $1,000. The award is given at the AASG breakfast meeting during the annual GSA meeting.

1998 (Toronto) David C. Noe, Candace L. Jochim, and William P. Rogers for A Guide to Swelling Soils for Colorado Homebuyers and Homeowners: Colorado Geological Survey, Special Publication 43, 1997. Updated 2nd Edition, 2007.

SP-43 Swelling Soils book